How to Contribute on ShortcutWorld

Why contribute?

This site was built around the idea of collaboration. To build a large and meaningful Shortcuts reference database, any help is appreciated. Anybody can edit existing Pages or add new Pages after registering as contributor. If you prefer not to register, simply drop a comment on the respective page.

Leave Comments

The quickest way for small contributions is to leave comments. Comments can be added to Shortcut Pages in regards to missing shortcuts, inconsistencies, or ideas for improvement. Please also leave comments if you need certain aspects of an application covered better. Also leave comments under Feedback Pages if you see anything that can be done better. At any time, you may comment as a guest, or as registered user.

Request Pages

Please leave a comment under Request Shortcuts if you want to see specific content added. If you looking for that content, there is a good chance others are looking as well.

Edit Pages

There is a very simple Page Editor available for most pages where you can make changes directly. See screenshot below and check out detailed instructions on how to add and edit Shortcut Pages.

Click on the Edit Symbol on most Shortcut Page to make edit Pages.

Add Shortcut Pages to existing Applications

Content is organized into Shortcut Pages (e.g. Excel 2019) which belong to different Application Pages (e.g. Excel Application Page). You can add Shortcut Pages to existing applications by using the plus sign on any Shortcut Page as seen on the screenshot below.

Click on the Plus Symbol on most Shortcut Page to add a Page to that Application.

Add new Application Pages

Using the 'Add Page' menu, you can create a Shortcut Pages under a new Application Page.

Click on the 'Add Page' on the top main menu to create Application Pages.

How to use the Editor

Please check the detailed instructions on how to add and edit Shortcut Pages.

 

2 Comments for 'How to Contribute'   

 
Email me replies   

Comment #2 by fcherman Jul 26, 2014 at 08:51 pm  Reply

I think you would find more users contributing if they weren't required to deal with XML code in order to modify an existing page for a new platform. This could be accomplished with the addition of an option in the "Add Platform/Language" dialog. The option would be something like "Duplicate existing platform/language" with a dropdown of existing langugages/platforms to choose from. This would address MapleSyrup's comment as well. If the duplicated page was entirely applicable to the new platform/language, then no further editing would be needed. If it were not entirely applicable (for example, if I were duplicating the Word for Windows page to create a Word for Mac page), then the author would simply edit the new copy of the existing page, making changes as necessary (for example, substituting the Mac "Command" keystroke for the Windows "Control" keystroke.

Reply #1 admin Jul 30, 2014 at 08:36 am

Noted! Yes, that would be an easy addition. I'll put it on the next updated.The XML code is meant for easy copy & pasting. When I create another platform for an existing page, this is one of the processes one could follow.1. Open existing Page in HTML Editor2. Switch to XML mode3. Copy all XML via clipboard to my local EditPad Notepad editor4. Do some search & replace if necessary 5. Add platform to existing page6. Switch to XML mode7. Paste XML code8. Switch to HTML mode and make final edits.I also just added that you can download pages as Open Office Spreadsheet (which you can then open in Excel or OO). You can make edits there too, then copy and paste shortcuts into the HTML editor (when you select two columns with a few rows, Excel is so friendly copying that as tab-separated entries with line breaks for each row). You simply press ctrl-v in the HTML Editor and can update 10, 20, or 50 shortcuts with description at a time directly out of Excel

Comment #1 by fcherman Jul 26, 2014 at 08:34 pm  Reply

While working in the HTML editor, it is natural to enter a few shortcuts, and then click "Preview" to see if you are doing it correctly.

Once you are in "Preview" mode, the "Preview" button changes to an "Edit" button, which I would think would take me back to the editing screen as I had previously left it—with my entries intact. It does not function this way. It takes you to an EMPTY editing screen—all your entries are gone. It does this even if you have clicked "Save" before entering "Preview" mode.

It turns out that your previous work IS still available if you have saved it, but it requires either clicking "Save" in "Preview" mode and then following the "My Shortcuts" or "Edit Again" link. But you would not think to click "Save" in "Preview" mode if you have already done so in "Edit" mode. You would simply expect the "Edit" button to take you back to the editor as you left it.

Nobody would expect the "Edit" button to clear all their previous work, nor would they expect to have to go through a multi-step process in "Preview" mode to get back to the previous "Edit" mode with their work intact.

Also, I shudder to think what would have happened to my work if I had *not* saved it before entering the "Preview" mode and then had clicked "Edit" rather than "Save" in "Preview" mode because I needed to make additional edits.

Can you adjust the functioning so that clicking "Edit" in "Preview" mode simply takes you back to the editing window with your work intact?

Thank you!

Reply #1 admin Jul 30, 2014 at 08:38 am

Hi Fcherman. Thanks for taking time checking and pointing it out in detail. Per our email conversation, I was unable to reproduce, this could have been caused by multiple tabs open. Will keep an eye on this. You are right, this is not acceptable. To be on the safe side, always save and/or also switch to XML mode and you can at any time copy the raw data to a local editor.

Advertising for Consideration:

Recommended Pages:

Ad for Consideration:

Recommended:

Please kindly review and accept Terms of Use and Cookie & Policy Policy